New to plants, need advice.

Don H

Hi, 

I’m fairly new to plants.  The only plants I’ve had in the past were anacharis elodia, cabomba, and Java moss.   All were bought at my local store in NY.  The anacharis and cabomba are so easy to grow they are considered invasive now and can no longer be sold in NY. At least not by fish stores.  I still managed to kill the cabomba.  The Java moss is practically indestructible, I used to give away pounds of it.  The anacharis actually grew to the top and got little white flowers.  Really nice if you can get your hands on it.

I purchased some pearl weed and bacopa caroliniana a few months ago and both are doing great.  
Can I leave them both in the pots?

If I can’t, can they be planted in gravel or do they need a different substrate?

I have them in a 29 gallon tank, but I might move the pearl weed to a 10 or 15 when I’m ready to do a shrimp tank. 

I can't speak to the pearlweed as I don't have any. I run low tech so I only do "easy" plants. The Bacopa you can leave in pots- in fact I grow my bacopa IN a pot, I trim it and replant and it just keeps going! You likely could plant it in gravel, you can float it (it grows roots). It's probably one of the easiest stem plants I've had. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

That is Caribsea EcoComplete. I have 6 tanks and it's in 5 of them (the last is bare bottom but has eco complete in pots with plants). I actually use no fertilizer at all, just rely on my little boxed ecosystem to support itself. Just use filters (sponge mostly) and light. No heaters, no fertilizers, no co2. 

Edited by xXInkedPhoenixX
  • Like 1

@xXInkedPhoenixX ludwigia and rotala tend to need lower nitrates, some CO2, and high light to turn red.