Sponge filters

Don H

Hi all, 

I’m new to the forum.  I have kept aquariums for over 40 years.  I started with a goldfish I won at a school fair when I was 5.

When I started, filters were plastic square cases with carbon rocks and cotton with an air pump.  I moved on to hang on back filters, which are mostly what I own now.  I currently only have 3 of my 10 tanks set up, but I’m going to gradually set them all up now that I have room for them.  

My question is about sponge filters since I’m new to using them.  Aquarium coop has a medium filter for 20 gallons and up or a large filter for 40 gallons and up.  I want to use one in one of my 29 gallon tanks and was wondering what size would be best.  
Right now it just has 2 plants in it and some ramshorn snails.  Pearl weed and bacopa carolinia, but I plan on adding variatus platties and corydoras.  I know the platties will breed and possibly the corydoras, I have other tanks I can move them to to avoid overcrowding, and I can always give some away.  
I’m currently cycling a small sponge filter in this tank for a 10 gallon I want to set up with shrimp.  I unplugged the old whisper 3 HOB I was using for the tank because the impeller went on it and I need to find a new one that fits.  I’m not sure if they have any since this whisper was from before tetra bought them out.  The tank is doing well with the small sponge filter, but there’s only the 2 plants and a few snails in it. 

• Like 1