Quarantine Tank?

Fishy101

Hello! This is my first time using this forum.

I have a 10 gallon with mainly some tetras and Corys, and a 5.5 with a betta and a couple panda Corys. I have been getting in some fish from a local fish store and overall they are great, however recently I have been having trouble with the panda Corys, some guppies, and a couple black phantom tetra getting sick. They all seem to have the same issue: 

Corys: Pale, very skinny, heavy breathing and then they do not make it much longer after they flip over on there side and it all happens so fast.

The tetras seem to get really fat and it’s happens right after I get them. However it’s not like they eat to much, the entire abdomen/stomach area just swells (I actually have a couple that are still like that but are living). However, all of my other fish that I have in my tank for awhile are always fine. 

I was wondering if a quarantine tank or something else would help prevent this from happening?

Thanks!

Hi Fishy101, welcome to the forum.

Having a quarantine tank will help you make sure new fish are healthy before putting them in with your existing fish. You don't need another glass tank to keep fish in quarantine, you can use a plastic storage bin or a rubbermaid container. Irene has a video about how:

So, having a tank to put new fish or sick fish in is great, but there's also the question of what's wrong with your fish.

If you go to the Diseases section of the forum and post your water test results and symptoms, people who are good at recognizing common problems may be able to help you figure it out.  It's important to know what your ammonia, pH, nitrite and nitrate levels are to diagnose problems.

• Like 1