Newbie from Baltimore... may ask a lot of questions :).

the_greg

Hi All-

I am an aquarium newbie. Well maybe not completely new. I had an aquarium 20+ years ago for a few years but that was a lifetime ago and I enjoyed it but when we moved to a new house we didn't have room for it while we renovated.

I stumbled back into this. Before Christmas I had googled "presents for old people" looking for a gift for my 80+ year old parents. One of the ideas on the list was this. I thought that was a great idea. My parents are animal lovers, live in a retirement community, lots of time, low maintenance. So I bought one, set it up, let it run for a while, and stocked it. It is still at my house as they have had covid for the last two weeks. I'll be dropping it off at their place next week.

IMG_0333.jpeg.d3ed54c4396f3a7c1fa1f89fbe585517.jpeg

Once I had it setup I remembered how much I loved having fish before and since then have gone a little nuts and have added three more tanks. I started with the Betta tank (Mr. Blue)

IMG_0332.jpeg.a7e17ecdd651cbdc7fd322e1bd653d0a.jpeg

Then I made a tank in our family room:

IMG_0331.jpeg.5ba69bbdaae358a4c27bab7caff86418.jpegThen I put a tank of pea puffers on my desk where I work all day (my personal favorite):

IMG_0328.jpeg.a9d62748e779665a0f81aae7c396a2c9.jpeg

Last thing I've done so far is buy another 14g cube like above and a 10g quarantine tank.

It's been fun. Really into learning about plants. I never did that before.

Now for the challenges:

Back in the old days I never quarantined anything. I think I was just young, lacking internet, and didn't know better. So I've filled each tank without quarantining and without medicine. I lost 1 fish in the biorb, 7 fish in the family room, and 1 pea puffer. So I'm currently doing the med trio on everything.

I also didn't cycle (again didn't recall that was a thing). So I got things to temp, added de-chlorinator and bio kickstarter.

Learning my lessons.