Stocking a new 29 gallon-fish compatibility

Cinnebuns

I am very new to keeping fish.  I was originally lead astray by some bad advice and have been working to solve the problems that arose because of it.  For the past 3 weeks I have been doing a fish-in cycle with a 10-gallon tank and a fishless with a 5-gallon.  I just today obtained a 29-gallon tank.  The plan was to fishless cycle the 29 while continuing to fish-in cycle the 10.  Once the 29 was finished cycling I was going to put the fish currently occupying the 10 into the 29 and add to it.  The problem comes in that I recently discovered that although I was originally told the fish I currently have are compatible, I am not finding conflicting info as to if this is true or not.  I currently have 3 glo tetras (black skirt tetras) and 1 male guppy.  The original plan was to increase those numbers to 6 tetras and 4-5 male guppies. 

I am now reading that the tetras can nip at the male guppies and possibly kill them making them incompatible.  However, I have also read that if you keep the tetras in a large enough school (6+) that this will not happen.  I'm so confused as to if I should continue with my plan or scrap it and find a different solution.  It's especially frustrating considering I already have some of the fish.  It is interesting to note I have not seen ANY fin nipping from the tetras.  I dont wanna fool myself to think that that could be because they are young and small though.  If I had to decide between the 2 species I would probably pick guppies, however that runs the added issue that I have more of the tetras currently.  

Questions then are:

1.  Are these fish compatible?

2.  If not, how would you suggest going from here?  Current tanks available are 29, 10, and 5.  

One thing with this hobby is: always have a back-up plan! Sadly this is sometimes because of these instances.