Stocking questions

abbie

Hi everyone! I am new to the hobby and have started thinking about a second tank. I'm thinking about doing a 30 gallon planted tank with either 1 or 3 German blue rams (if 3 I'd do 1 male and 2 females), around 10 rummy nose tetras, 6 otos ( I may do 3 to make sure there's enough food between algae and me feeding), and 6 kuhli loaches. My tap water comes out with no nitrites, no nitrates, an 8.4 ph, around 25 ppm GH and 180ppm KH. I am thinking I could heat the tank to 84 degrees and keep everyone happy. Has anyone done something similar to this and have any advice? I am still researching so if anyone has any other suggestions for a community I would love to hear!

• Like 2

On 11/30/2021 at 3:11 PM, Minanora said:

Bring on the guppies! Just kidding; but I have to go there. 😛

Rams are so cool! I look forward to seeing what you decide to do. What do you have in your current tank?

I thought about doing guppies! My only concern was since they're livebearers I am concerned about possibly getting over run by them haha I also sadly don't have a lfs within an hour or two of me to sell them to. Could you think of a fish that would eat the fry but leave the adults alone? 

On 11/30/2021 at 3:59 PM, abbie said:

I thought about doing guppies! My only concern was since they're livebearers I am concerned about possibly getting over run by them haha I also sadly don't have a lfs within an hour or two of me to sell them to. Could you think of a fish that would eat the fry but leave the adults alone?