Undergravel Filter and Aquascaping

Tombeaux

Hey everyone, would love some thoughts from the community on this, thanks for the support!

I am curious about having undergravel filters on my next scape and was curious if depth of substrate matters, i.e. can it be too deep? The uplift tubes will be connected to my biomaster 350. I think I can scape the tank to hide the tubes.

Do plants grow well on UGFs? I'm pretty religious when it comes to my maintenence and ferts.

Been in the hobby 7 months, tank below is my 55 gallon acrylic display. 

20211110_075720.jpg

• Like 1
  • Love 2

As far as UFGs go, they are pretty outdated, but they are still pretty popular. With that being said, you would need a really thick layer of gravel to go on top of it. Also, as the UFG is built to keep the gravel clean, there won’t be a ton of mulm(uneaten food, fish waste, dead plants) which in my opinion, really helps the plants grow. 

With that being said, I have no experience with UFGs, especially with plants, so more opinions will be best. @Streetwise and maybe @Guppysnail might know something I don’t.

I haven’t used UGFs since my youth. With air, they would probably pull some mulm into the gravel, and trap some under it. With a canister, you might pull it all out.

I think sponge filters are a nice solution for moving water, but keeping mulm. I’m not picky about maintenance, because I like keeping the nutrients in my aquariums, but there are many ways to run tanks.

I have UGF in almost every tank.

I love them, and with a little preplanning you can get the best of both the planted world, and the UGF.

It's late, so no new pictures for a tutorial tonight.

The 4' tank in my spouse's room has UGF on the right ¼ of the tank, with gravel and river rocks on top of the UGF. The uplift tube is sealed to an inverted Bolthouse Farms bottle that houses a pond pump, and the pump runs the waterfall on the left side of the tank.