tank plans

isaly

As I mentioned in my intro, I’m a newb. My 55 gallon tank is three weeks old and I’ve got six small fish in, two serpae tetras and four fruit tetras.

I have two general sets of plans. I vacillate.

In either case, I don’t want to overstock the tank. I also want plants but not a jungle.

First idea is a pair of electric blue acara…really cool looking fish…maybe four of some sort of rainbow and/or a supporting shoal of some tetra or other fish that won’t bother the acara and that the acara won’t eat. I’m thinking I’d put the shoal in first and add the acara as juveniles. If the acara grow up with the shoal perhaps that and the combined influence of numbers might mean they’d all get along. I’m not thinking anything smaller than 2” for the shoal. If predation happens, it does, but I don't want to set up the little folks for a dinner date they won't return from.

The second is a school of something like silvertip tetras, maybe 25 - 35. I saw a vid of Cory in his store making them focus and move in concert with his hand. The points on the fin tips en masse looked like little fireworks. I’m not committed to the silvertips yet…mmm…acara or schoolhouse?

Anyone with any ideas about these choices feel free to chime in.

The visual composition of the tank will involve two large and three smaller granite river rocks with a thick bed of coarse multicolored gravel. I may mix in some finer gravel in places to help hold smaller plants. The effect will be sparse but impactful in terms of the bold strokes of the rocks against whatever plants I use.

I’ll post pics when I think it’s pic-worthy.