Need advice for hurt fish

Dana G

I'm not sure what to do in this situation. I'm new to the hobby.

I have had my betta, Fred, since January. I recently added some buddies for him to the tank (blue dream dwarf shrimp). I have had the shrimp for about 2 months. I noticed some had white dots and their heads recently. After researching, I discovered this is a parasite and dosed my tank this morning with API General Cure.

A few hours after that, I'm watching my Fred chase the shrimpee crew and he gets sucked up the HOB filter intake and just shreds the heck out him. I had quickly unplug the dad gum filter because he couldn't get free. He is really torn up and looks like he has a gash on his side. He swam to bottom and stayed there for a long time. He didn't even come to the top to breath. I turned off the lights in the tank and the room and he is hiding in the top corner where all the dwarf sag grows. 

I cleaned the tank this morning before dosing Api. I'm not sure if I should do another water change to get rid of the parasite med , or just add some ichx and some maracyn to keep him from getting an infection. Everything I've read online so far says clean water and aquarium salt,  but I'm having a hard time believing salt in open wound is good thing. I'm at a loss as to what to do. ????

After the accident,  I read about pantyhose over the intake and did that, but a little to late. (I'm totally kicking my own butt) Just ordered the ACoOp sponge filter so this doesn't happen again. 

Please any advice is appreciated. He looks so hurt. I wish there was an equivalent to tylenol for fish.

Sorry about your betta. Keep the water with the parasite meds. Dosing salt is a good idea. Ich-X probably isn't needed since there's no fungus or ich. Maracyn is good to keep on-hand but probably should only be dosed if you see signs of infection. 

From the Co-Op blog post: https://www.aquariumcoop.com/blogs/aquarium/aquarium-salt-for-sick-fish

Level 1 Treatment