Live food for guppies.

Endler enthusiast

Hi, I’m McKenna (Mack and mick are nicknames) and I am a chronic over builder/ overachiever. I am nearing a new endler breeding project( also overbuilt) with an auto fry separator and two tanks dedicated to one colony. I haven’t decided what type of endler I will choose yet, but I know I want to feed both adults and fry live foods (in combination with repashy vegetarian option) and I needed help in choosing which live foods I should get. I wish to put the limit of different cultures to 4 ( not including bbs and the occasional mosquito larva from pooled water)
thank you for reading, and thank you for taking time to help me 🙂

On 10/2/2021 at 10:25 AM, ADMWNDSR83 said:

I only feed bbs as live foods for all my fish, but I've seen some people have success with daphnia, maybe?  I do freeze dried daphnia and mysis shrimp at times.

Thank you for your comment,I was thinking of using micro worms, grindle worms, bbs, and occasionally some mosquito larva

I'd try grindal worms for sure whiteworms have been great for my setups. Grindal is the same low smelling culture as the white worms just smaller worms from what I've researched. 

I currently do daphnia mostly outside once they rebound from winter.  They are a main live food in the fish room May-October or the first freeze and netting them out to feed will give me sizes from very small for young fish to decently large for adults,  

Also have Peanut beetles. once cranking provide a ton of larvae for fish. 

My whiteworms are easy culture doesn't smell bigger worms that probably would work for endless in a colony

My flightless larger species (hydei) fruit flies. These arrprimarily for my butterfly fish and wild betta but seem to be happily taken by my livebearers the highland swordtail, Characodon audax, Characodon Lateralis, one-sided livebearer. I'd assume endless also may take flies.