Newb question...can plants get burned by submerged heater?

*edit...my plants are not burnt, just planted actually, I'm just concerned since I'm new to this.

Hi, been a long time out of fishkeeping, and first time trying live plants.  I just got some hornwort I ordered online and of the two best spots to plant some in my ten gallon, one was next to the heater (Tetra 50w 2-10 gal).  I bought them for my little colony of ghost shrimp since I heard they like it and I like the look of it.  I've been searching the last couple days but can't find anything about the heater burning the plants?  It does have a guard on the bottom.  I've enclosed pics of where the one I'm concerned about is.  I know the heater isn't in the best spot for even distribution, but with the rock there it was the best spot.  My betta loves to sit on top of it, lol.  Maybe he likes a warm tail...

And....yes I know I have brown algae, my nerite loves the stuff on the sides and the shrimp love it on the ground and rock.  My blue mystery covers the whole tank all day but doesn't seem to chow down on it like the nerite.  It appeared about a week ago.  If it gets beyond what my nerite can handle, I will scrape it off.  The other pic is the hornwort on the other side of the filter.  I can tell already that it's gonna be a mess to deal with!  I got it originally for a dedicated shrimp tank that is on hold atm.

Thanks so much for any info!  Appreciate this group!

20210930_124747.jpg

20210930_124711.jpg

Edited by samuraikitty7
clarification

On 9/30/2021 at 3:04 PM, Flumpweesel said:

I have plants around my heater and never give it thought .  I would expect that it would have to get very hot to hurt them the water flow should disburse the heat enough. I think your fish and inverts would be struggling if it was causing a damaging hot spot in there.