Breeding Ideas

FrozenFins

I have a 10 gallon aquarium that is currently being used to house my guppy trio, as well as to serve as a grow out tank for my small angelfish named penny. Within the next few weeks I plan to move  Penny into the community tank, as well as the rummynose tetra that are growing out in Hugos tank,

Once all these moves have been completed I want to make a fish order. Consisting of some pumpkin shrimp for the shrimp bowl, and my next breeding project fish.

However I cant seem to decide what I should breed next. Keep in mind all these options should be fine for a 10 gallon aquarium.

I was thinking one of the following...

• Platys - I love platys, but have never kept any
  • Pair of apistogramma or kribensis
  • Orange Venezualin Corydora - there are some really pretty ones on aquahuna right now.
  • open to any other suggestions

I am fairly new to breeding, so I would like a easy to breed fish.

On 9/23/2021 at 10:37 AM, James Black said:

However I cant seem to decide what I should breed next. Keep in mind all these options should be fine for a 10 gallon aquarium.

Are you talking about breeding in terms of spawning or breeding in terms of spawning, birthing/hatching and rearing? 10 gallons is going to be tight for high volume egg layers unless you have grow out tanks for fry. 

• Like 1

Platy are very easy to breed good for a beginner, but you will definitely need to watch for them to drop the fry and remove as soon as possible. Especially in a 10G. If your looking for parents and babies to stay together platy is not good for 10G.CC7C72E8-DA84-400F-B1B5-08C7A21066F9.jpeg.50ae152946f752453a978e15a7d641f6.jpeg

these are Mickey Mouse verity a sunshine and a blue. Lots of different sub species and colors to choose from.

• Like 1