Fishless cycle?

Oreganoodle

I had a tank for about 6 years when I was younger, so I'm not a total newbie. I decided to start a tank up for my daughter who just learned about fish at school. I don't have a great local store anywhere near me, so PetSmart was my only option. I made the mistake of listening to them when they suggested just filling the tank so the way instead of starting small or doing a fishless cycle. Needless to say I'm starting over. I tested twice a day, and watched a cycle. I'm not sure if I lost the fish to a disease (two dead danios had red gills, and the pleco who died was pretty white). I'm going to bleach and scrub the tank, then start over and go slowly this time. Thoughts/advice on a fishless cycle?

• Administrators

Many of us have done fishless cycles as well as with fish. I have had good experiences with both. The key to having fish right away is to have a fair amount of live plants in the aquarium at the beginning. This does a couple of things:

1. Most likely the plants will have some beneficial bacteria on them or in the rock wool that they came in, so this will help jumpstart your bacteria.

2. The plants will help absorb the waste produced by the fish, making it less harmful to the fish.

If you know of anyone that has an established fish tank, getting a small bucket with some old filter material or yucky/dirty water from their filter or substrate will do wonders in having your tank ready for fish.

My advice to many beginners is to air on the side of caution though, and do a fishless cycle (just to be sure and to avoid a situation like you just had). 

I don't think that you need to bleach the tank though. I would just start over from where you are. 

On 9/20/2021 at 9:58 PM, Samanthabea said:

Sounds like their gills got burned either by chlorine or amonia 

The pleco I'm not sure one of mine died and looked like that when I was trying to start a chiclid tank and it crashed