FLUVAL FRESH AND PLANT 3.0 LED LIGHT FIXTURE 14523 selection based upon depth to substrate and aquarium dimensions, low light plants

Jay99

Can anyone assist in providing the math / science behind the number of FLUVAL FRESH AND PLANT 3.0 LED LIGHT FIXTURE 14523 lights that are required based upon depth to substrate and aquarium dimensions?

I did review the Aquarium Co-op Light Guide and noted the recommended number of FLUVAL FRESH AND PLANT 3.0 LED LIGHT FIXTURE 14523 lights that are based upon aquarium gallonage.

I am new to aquarium plants and want to understand the math / science behind Aquarium Co-op recommendations.

Please note: Even though I am requesting calculations / recommendations based upon depth to substrate and aquarium dimensions, I plan to have vast majority of plants on Mopani driftwood and Dragon rock. The substrates are CaribSea Super Naturals Zen Garden Aquarium Substrate (relatively smooth inert river gravel) that will be  basically free of plants. I want maximum clear bottom to provide swimming and viewing area for my preferred fish, Corydoras species. Several Amazon Swords will be in background.

GIVENS:

FLUVAL FRESH AND PLANT 3.0 LED LIGHT FIXTURE 14523, Fluval data:

SKU: 14523

UPC: 015561145237

Watts: 59

Size Range: 48 - 60" (122 - 153 cm)

LED Number: 336

Lumens: 4250 lumens

Color Temperature: 6500 K

Aquarium 1:

Length: 84 inches

Width: 30 inches

Height: 30 inches

Top: Full glass top, approximately 1/8 inch thick glass, three glass access lids

Gallonage, Trade: 327 U.S. gallons

Aquarium 2:

Length: 48 inches

Width: 17-3/4 inches

Height: 20-1/2 inches

Top: Full glass top, approximately 1/8 inch thick glass, three glass access lids

Gallonage, Trade: 75 U.S. gallons

Planned plants (all in Aquarium Co-op “low light” category)

"Windelov" Java Fern

Java Fern

Java Moss

Anubias Barteri

Cryptocoryne Wendtii Green

Anubias Golden

Cryptocoryne Tropica

Amazon Sword

Thank you,

Jay

• Like 1