hang on back filters with pre filter sponges?

-blake-

I'm pretty new to fish keeping and I have a Fluval Aqua-Clear 30 hang on back filter (20 gal long tank)

I'm getting fish sometime this weekend and I'm finishing shopping for the aquarium (getting lemon tetras and it has a mystery snail in it)

and I was wondering from yalls experience if a pre filter sponge would be beneficial for my tank.

(my tank has been cycling for the past 3-4 weeks with that filter)

(live java moss and 1 anubias nana in the tank and we're getting some floating frogbit this weekend)

🐠

Edited by -blake-
spelling

I like running them because I have shrimp in all my tanks, they add biological filtration and they catch a lot the debris out of the water column so I don't have to do a full service on the HOB as often (clean the impeller and housing and the intake tube). It also stretches out the time between filter cleaning in the HOB. The pre filter is super easy to clean. I just reach in there with a bag, pull it off and go rinse it out in the sink and put it back. Two minutes tops.

• Like 2

I have been really glad I had pre-filter sponges on my tank.

I wanted extra safety for my Endlers when I bought them because they were young and tiny and I thought they might be too weak to stay out of the HOB.  Now I have fry so I really count on the sponge.

IDK if this is scientifically proven or not, but in my experience medicating with Maracyn kills off the cycle bacteria, so when I had to medicate my QT tank recently it was nice to just be able to add the sponge from the main tank HOB to bring back the bacteria population quickly. 

• Like 2