Favorite aquarium clean up crew.

Seized

Getting rid of stringy algae that grows on plants and tank walls: rams horn snails are the coolest because of their color variety and shape. Pond snails are a good second best, although I personally like them less than ramshorn.

Cleaning/maintaining the water column: I did clams once, and they are actually the best but are far too sensitive to water changes and die easily... Daphnia are hard to beat and are my best pick. I have to give an honorable mention to the large shrimp with fan-shaped hands that 'grab' stuff out of the water, just for being so cool.

Removing detritus and other mucky stuff from the bottom: scuds are amazing for this in combination with detritus worms.

Cleaning under gravel: I have no experience with them, but I understand trumpet snails are good for burrowing down into the bottom of gravel and cleaning it.

Patience, extreme patience. I have found ignoring a problem sometimes results in the problem going away.

• pea soup green water - Had to ignore this for 10 long weeks before the tank eventually cleared
  • Extreme hair algae - Usually ignoring this for 8 weeks or so will do the trick
  • detritus - eventually reaches some sort of equilibrium in the aquarium, I am not sure why but I have never had this completely overtake an aquarium

Me first and foremost. I don't keep aquarium critters to do my maintenance for me. I like that some happily share the workload with me, but at the end of the day. I'm the cleanup crew.