Water so hard Aquarium Coop test kit couldn't measure it?

Jumbo Slim

Hello all. I have been keeping fish casually for over 30 years but I am not nearly good enough to be at nerm level!

I just moved to a new house and it's my first time having well water or hard water. Being a long time viewer of Cory I decided to order the COOP test strips. I ran a couple through my water. Everything was as expected except that the hardness turned a color that isn't even found on the bottle. Does this mean my water is harder than hard or what?

Here are the results.

wut wrong.jpg

• Like 1

Being that you're on a well, make sure to check if your house has a water softener and/or treatment unit plumbed in line as well as find out if it's been maintained. Some homes with wells have them and the previous owner didn't maintain it or, they let it slip knowing they were selling/moving and left the maintenance to the new owner/tenant. 

My buffer and ph look to be a little lower than yours, but my hardness looks exactly the same I’m very interested in hearing what people say about this I figured the same that it’s harder than the test strips.I’m from Indiana the water in this region is prime for hard water fish.

I’m on city water not well tho.

Edited by Atitagain

On 8/30/2021 at 3:53 PM, Tihshho said:

Being that you're on a well, make sure to check if your house has a water softener and/or treatment unit plumbed in line as well as find out if it's been maintained. Some homes with wells have them and the previous owner didn't maintain it or, they let it slip knowing they were selling/moving and left the maintenance to the new owner/tenant. 

Thanks! The house is actually 151 years old and we're on a hand dug well. It's pumped straight into the house with an on demand pump. It doesn't go through anything except the hot water tank.

So is this going to bad for fish? Or is it going to mean I can only keep African cichilids?!