Neocaridina temp raised too fast. Insight?

CalmedByFish

I'm new to neocaridina, so I don't know if I have a problem.

The tank's been steady at 72, but the heater didn't shut itself off last night (we're all surprised, I know 🙄), and the temp wooshed from 72 to 80 in 15 hours.

The shrimp are young. Many females have been saddled for weeks, but I haven't seen any berried. 

I removed the heater, and took the lid off to let it cool. Is there anything else I should do? They appear to be acting fine, but I've heard this can cause a "premature molt." Is that a problem?

My Neo rack of tanks swing depending on a few things, be it season and if my dehumidifier is running. I've had temp swings like you posted and have not had an issue. 80 is hot, but not deadly hot to them. Neo's are very resilient and you shouldn't have an issue. If your heater jumped them to 80 from 72 in less time, and I'm talking in less than 10 minutes, then there would be some concern.

On 8/30/2021 at 12:13 PM, Tihshho said:

My Neo rack of tanks swing depending on a few things, be it season and if my dehumidifier is running. I've had temp swings like you posted and have not had an issue. 80 is hot, but not deadly hot to them. Neo's are very resilient and you shouldn't have an issue. If your heater jumped them to 80 from 72 in less time, and I'm talking in less than 10 minutes, then there would be some concern.

This is good info. Thank you!

Is "premature molting" even a thing? 

On 8/30/2021 at 2:00 PM, CalmedByFish said:

Is "premature molting" even a thing?