10 Gallon Honey Gourami Stocking

Jackk

Hi, my question is related to honey gouramis. I’ve gotten mixed messaging about stocking and felt I should come here to ask. I do already have a powder blue dwarf gourami in my 29 gallon so I have some experience with gouramis for about a year and half now. 

I’ve set up a heavily planted 10 gallon tank. Java ferns, Anubias, Buce, Water lettuce, Java moss, and Marimo moss balls. I do not have a large cave like my 29 gallon though so I’m potentially worried about line of sight. I’ve read that honey gouramis are a lot more peaceful than their dwarf counterparts. That they can work in groups or solo. I’m wondering how many honey gouramis can be in a 10 gallon? One fish store told me 8-9 with lots of filtration. I thought that was pretty absurd and was way too many. Another fish store told me 2. I asked about male/female and they told me it’s more about territory/personality.

I’m perfectly alright with getting a solo honey gourami. If 2 would work thought that would be cool too. Can 2 males work? Can 1 male/1 female? Will the male/female create too much aggression with other fish in the tank in regards to territory and breeding ? Will 2 males fight too much?  

Thank you.

I have 2 male honey gouramis in a 20 gallon tank and they do occationally fight but they fight only for 2-5 minutes and dont really hurt each other. But as yours is a smaller tank I would say go with 1 male and 1 female and do have a spare tank ready. Just 1 Male or female would be best with some other small fish but you could do 1 male and 1 female if you have a good filter and do weekly water changes

• Thanks 1

I have some experience with keeping dwarf gouramis and blue gourmais. I always kept them in pair, male/female. My blue gourmais spawned and the fry is tanking forever to grow.