Large Aquarium racks

Desktop Aquatics

I have been setting up plans for my new apartment and the rack I want to set up. My plan is to have a 55 or 75gal tank on top with 2 rows underneath with either 20gal or 10gals. I haven't really found any good DIY for making a tank of that size with smaller tanks underneath. Is this feasible I have no experience doing any wood working?

any links or advice would be appreciated

On 8/10/2021 at 4:06 PM, s1_ said:

This is the same rack I use. If your looking to avoid a project it is a great choice. I did have a few plywood panels cut when I picked up the rack. I wasn’t sure about the wire rack dispersing the weight/wanted to avoid pressure points on the tanks. I have the 75 on the middle shelf with 2 40s underneath.  I’d avoid putting all your weight on the top-accidents happen, best not to have 900lbs of water, glass and rocks above your head.

9A2D1DF0-BBA2-4619-A69D-917698730C4B.jpeg.fc541b51e3202fc9673b4662e7a094d1.jpeg
This was from the collecting phase before planting.

• Like 2

I had planned on doing something with wood as i can build it to my exact dimensions just had a terrible time looking for a diy for a tank that size that isnt just a single stand. I want the 75 to be more eye level as im 6'3 and my smaller tanks to be lower but there is no such builds out there that ive found

The standard 2x4 stand design is fully scalable to support the 75 gal tank on the top and smaller tanks on the bottom.  You just need to decide how you want all of the tanks oriented.  There are more minimal designs but this basic design is my favorite since you can build this with the basic tools and skills.  The design can also be wrapped and have trim added if desired.

20201129-20201129_215556.jpg.636e1925839111a79891d3a6cbe9bb66.jpg

20210810_221723.jpg.5aae5818cb2dabc79b9b41764683f477.jpg

20210810_221704.jpg.b9d202fc355cf77f8a6b1be652d01406.jpg