planted tank with sand substrate

Jeff

I'm curious about starting a planted tank with sand. Cory showed the sand he uses in the 800g in one of his videos before (attached here). I'm interested in using this sand. 

Is it just a matter of using lots of root tabs when it comes to using a sand substrate?

IMG_010.JPG

I wouldn't do heavy root feeders like swords in a sand substrate. I mean you could but you'll be using lots of root tabs. If I was doing sand I'd concentrate on things like floating plants, anubias, and stem plants that feed mainly from the water column.

• Like 1

In my 75g and 3g I have an Ace Hardware medium grain pool filter sand with a layer of aquasoil/gravel mix as a base. I learned it from MD Fishtanks. Just because I’m still new to the game I use some root tabs. I’m not sure they’re needed by it makes me feel better. 

image.jpg

E0724521-CFED-4795-8B93-CD0CABCD4278.jpeg

Edited by Patrick_G
  • Like 7

I personally would divide out sections in the tank I want to plant and put aquarium soil there and cap it with sand rather than trying to grow plants in sand. 

Although I suppose it depends on what plants you are attempting to grow. Small plants with no root structures will do fine growing along sand as they mostly use the roots as an anchor. Or you can mix soil into the sand so that there are nutrients scattered throughout the substrate for your plants. 

• Like 3

On 8/10/2021 at 1:04 PM, sudofish said:

I wouldn't do heavy root feeders like swords in a sand substrate. I mean you could but you'll be using lots of root tabs. If I was doing sand I'd concentrate on things like floating plants, anubias, and stem plants that feed mainly from the water column.

What about using the Easy Planter with Swords? Would putting root tabs into the rock wool of Swords in an EP work out?