White stuff with scary looking dots on driftwood. Should I be concerned?

16282152356974180208245485121291.jpg.e0de72f3b0db325f577eaf49ef72b043.jpg6.7 Betta cube, completed fishless cycle June 13th.  The driftwood in question went through the cycling and came from another tank, where it did not have this growth. About 10 days ago I pulled it out, scrubbed off the white stuff with a toothbrush and peroxide, avoiding my plants and roots, a couple good rinses and short soak and placed it back.

The white stuff came right back.   It doesn't seem to bother my betta, but its a small world he's in so I'm concerned.  I haven't seen this in my other tanks. The oldest of which is just approaching the one year mark, so I'm not that experienced. 

The tank is otherwise in a that "hey let's try out some hair and staghorn algae" stage I think is to be expected for its youth.  LED that came with the tank runs 8-11am , then 1-5pm.

The betta is my home office buddy, and I've had him a bit longer than his new home, about 8 months now. 

Parameters today:  ph (7.2 by strips, I guess. 7.5 by drops? 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and 1 nitrates (will be adding some easy green) Hardness I get 7 drops or 300 on strips, kh I get 6 drops or 150 on strips. Phosphate 1 (picture of tests is after the 3 minute mark so it looks darker). Both the nitrates and phosphate are now  lower than my tap water so plants are taking hold I think. 

This scary looking white dotted webby stuff? Thoughts, advice? 

20210805_165543.jpg

20210805_165510.jpg

20210805_175348.jpg

20210805_165321.jpg

Edited by MichelleN
Better photo

What a gorgeous CT!!!

I see the dots you are asking about, and the white film. 

Does your betta have any tankmates?

Do you watch your betta to ensure he actually eats all of his food and doesn't try to hide it anywhere? [Don't ask.... I've had some... uniquely tempered... betta]

When you cleaned it off before, what was the texture?

Did it have an aroma?