29 Gallon-first planted tank

This is my first attempt at a planted tank and my first tank in a long time (~15 years) I know it doesn't look like it, but there are currently 18 Embers and 18 CPDs in the tank...the CPDs just went in today, so everyone was a little skittish when I took the picture...everyone seems a little more comfortable and are all exploring the tank now - it was kind of funny, when the CPDs first went in, they mixed in with the Embers and started schooling with them

For my plants, I have one unidentified crypt, rotala, an Amazon sword, crypt wendtii, crypt lucens, anubias cofeefolia, water sprite and I am pretty sure my dwarf lilly finally started to sprout, so pretty psyched about that!!

let me know what you think20210717_125307.jpg.19f468a8f5a4eec208e2ed477e005acc.jpg

• Like 7
  • Love 1

Wonderful! I love 29 gal tanks for showing off good fish. Love the Eheim heater brand. I like to place mine horizontally in the back so that when I water change, I don’t accidentally lower the water under the heater and risk cracking the glass.

As for plants, a lot depends on the quality of your lighting in relation to fertilization and your plant choices.

Our Water Sprite tended to get brown algae down low, and grew “leggy” — eating the light at the top, but struggling down low. Our Rotalla Indica did great… better and better as it approached the light. Amazon Swords all did fantastic, especially with a single root tab buried beneath each one at least once per month.

I’ve found that slightly cooler water can help certain plants thrive. Running at 85° for breeding Rams and keeping Discus + Cardinal Teras really stressed certain plants.

Here’s a shot of my Warm 29 gal…

A1DC59A6-71F9-4387-9135-35068D7A26B8.jpeg.708a65c846219eaff7f7654293de47cc.jpeg

Here’s a look at my Cold 29 gal…

3C7AD124-8FDE-40C4-A69E-10A3410BB6A8.jpeg.28098cb16ff7ea517e22656f075685b8.jpeg