Bloating or pineconing? Betta

Gideyon

I was shocked to see my betta tonight like this.  He wasn't like this last night. 

Is it bloat or is it early stages of pineconing? 

Unfortunately I only noticed this after I dropped the food in.  I'll be fasting him for a few days at least. 

Anything else I should do?     Things I have at my disposal are IAL, stress guard, prime, and very old aquarium salt which I've never used with this fish. 

Temp is about 78. I'm going to try to raise it to 80. 

PH is 7-7.2

Ammonia is about 0.002ppm 

Nitrite is 0

Nitrate is hard for me to tell. 5 to 20ppm. I'm not good with colors. 

KH 40

Gh 180

PXL_20210716_033825485.MP.jpg

PXL_20210716_033810077.jpg

I really hope it isn't what I think it is, I'm not sure he needs to fast if it is, might help him to take food if he's willing. You can try feeding him a pea if it is bloat, but raised scales in my experience is a bad bad sign in Bettas. I regret delaying the treatment for mine when I thought at first he was just constipated, so I'm betting you could try doing both. 

• Like 1

That looks like dropsy with the pineconeing of the scales  I would treat with salt 1 table spoon for 2 gallons and kanaplex the salt will help reduce the fluid buildup

Edited by Colu
  • Like 2

Not sure if he's the same or worse.   He's still active. 

Edit: ordered kanaplex. Will get it tomorrow. 

I'll be doing a 50% water change in the afternoon and then add the salt.   Add a new IAL incase the old one is too old.   Not sure what caused this.   So I'll try to make things as clean/new as possible without harming beneficial bacteria. 

I can only do any tank maintenance when when my kid is napping. So any feedback until then would be helpful. 

PXL_20210716_113048340.jpg

Edited by Gideyon

The last water change I did (maybe 2 weeks ago) was a bit stressful for him because he kept getting in the way.  

I made a possible bad decision and put it stress guard after that change. I've never used it before.