I want to change the substrate on established tank.

BettaBlake

What's up community! Greetings from Austin Texas! So this is what I got, I have a 20 gallon high planted (ish) tank. When I first set this tank up as a newbie I went with a rock gravel, and to be honest with the addition of aquarium co-ops plant root tabs, I haven't cared because I've seen plenty of plant growth. But now after too many forums, and too much scrolling through Google images of tanks with black gravel, I am hooked on the look. So basically what I am asking, is what should be my steps in replacing my gravel? I currently only have one betta fish and three snails and a few amano shrimp living in the tank. I also have a spare 10 gallon tank I could use as a temporary tank. Just kind of want to get some advice from the community to make sure I don't do anything wrong and accidentally kill my fish and snails 😳 I added a picture of what my tank looks like so you can see the current gravel.

As of today, July 13th these are my tank numbers: pH: 7.0 Ammonia: 0 Nitrite: 0 Nitrates: 10ppm

anyway, TIA to all who reply!

20210712_192808_HDR.jpg

• Like 2

With my 120, I took everything out of the tank and put wood, fish, and plants in a large plastic container while I took the old substrate out and replaced it. I did not have a choice, since I was moving the tank across the room and took advantage of that opportunity to change the substrate.

With a smaller tank, it might be practical to remove and replace the substrate while leaving the fish in and  just removing everything else, I have never done that.

If you stick with the same filter you should not have a problem with the cycle, but you need to monitor water quality closely after the substrate change. With the bacteria in your filter and on the other things in the aquarium, you should be fine. Your plants will also help with any ammonia/nitrite problem.

Gravel looks like corn.

I can say that because I know you are changing it.

• Thanks 1