Beginner trying to cycle first fish-only tank

Chris Bode

Hi all

I am relatively new to the aquarium hobby.  Currently I have a 75 gallon tank with an aquatic turtle in it that I have managed to do great with, but turtles are heartier than fish and I didn't need to worry about cycling the water too much in the beginning

My question today deals with a new tank that I just started 9 days ago.  It is a 40g breeder and there is no fish in it yet as it is not cycled.

My setup is as follows:

-Crushed coral substrate

-2x sponge filter with fluval air pump (both had been used in previous tanks, but were not taken directly from one tank to another so IDK if they had any live bacteria when I started using them).

-fluval nano wave maker

-seachem tidal 55 filter with seachem matrix and fluval peat (to lower the PH because of the crushed coral substrate)

-6x aquarium co-op easy planters with some various java fern and amazon sword.

-A small piece of driftwood for lowering PH

-Fluval Plant light 3.0, 36 inch

Products I have used

-Seachem flourish tabs under each plant

-seachem flourish (realized later this may not be the best for the plants I am using)

-fluval plant care iron+

-aquavitro seed bacteria

-seachem prime for dichlorination

I have been adding pinches of fish food for around 4 or 5 days trying to get some ammonia in the water.  I have also taken a big lava rock and a few small live plants and easy planters from my other tank in an effort to speed up the cycling process.

My water readings currently are as follows: (taken using API master test kit)

Water temp: around 77

PH: Around 7.6

ammonia: Around .25 or .5 PPM

Nitrites and Nitrates: basically none yet.