Pacific Northwest Folks - How Are Your Fish?

Patrick_G

I live south of Seattle but I’ve been out of two for the last ten days and don’t get home until late tomorrow. I’m worried about my tanks and my pond. It hit 100 in my area and I see it was 110 in Portland. I know most of us don’t have AC. How are your fish doing? 

I've been doing OK, until the past few hours. My freezer fell behind on making ice. I've been melting it faster than I can make it and the stores are out. I, just now, resorted to evaporative cooling - I hosed down the outside of the house. 93° in here. Fish are still at 79°.

Edited by Frank
  • Sad 2

Yeah my hot room tank is 90. my living room tank (the room is currently 90) is about 80 now but I've been managing it a bit. 

My half barrel tub is about 84f even know it's 110 outside.

Edited by CT_
  • Like 1

I am a little north of Seattle and Right now its about 100 earlier it was 108 I am a little north of Seattle. My fish are doing fine, since I am a beginner I choose relatively hardy and adaptable fish so that might be helping. Right now my 29 gallon is around 83 degrees I googled my fish it is a little hot for them but they should be okay. I don't have AC and my house is around 86 degrees. I hope The stores get some back in stock soon the only place that had them was home depot in Kennewick but I called them 30 minutes later and they had sold out. 

• Like 1
  • Sad 1

My garage has stayed high 70s low 80s. Ponds last night after sun went down we’re in the mid to high 80s. I did water changes on the garage tanks and the ponds and put in a couple degrees cooler water and everyone has an extra way to oxygenate the tank. I lost my Endlers that were in a tub pond last weekend. I’d already moved the ricefish. Only fish that seem to be honestly thriving are my honey gouramis. There’s a bubble nest remarkably.