Hello from Tennessee

Hello everyone! 
I’m so excited that I have found this forum! I have been on other pages and haven’t been able to get help. I sometimes have a lot of questions since I am a newbie. I have had a Betta for almost a year. And have kept him well. But would love to do better for him. I have never used live plants and I am thinking about getting a few just to try. I have no idea what I need as far as substrate or anything as far as plants go. Do I need a bubbler to keep plants? And where can I get clean plants that wouldn’t have a million snail eggs? Lol. Any suggestions or info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time, and I am looking forward to talking with y’all!

Carrie T

Welcome!

Definitely recommend live plants, no one can fully prevent snail eggs so you may have to be their remover. An airstone or bubbler is not necessary to keep plants. I recommend eco complete for a nutrient infused substrate but gravel works, fertilizers are not required for easy plants but all plants will appreciate it.

Welcome to the forum Great beginner plants  for low tech planted tanks are vallisneria or Hornwort or Elodea for back ground anubis and Javan fern and Javan moss you can attach to wood or rock water lettuce or Amazonian frogbit are great floating plants you will get snails or snail eggs most plants unless you get tissue cultured plants