One Pea Puffer in a Five Gallon Debate

YeePuffer

I have been keeping a single pea puffer in my five gallon for the past few months, and as I continue to learn more talking to other fish keepers, it seems like there’s a lot of controversy about the setup. Originally the five gallon seemed like a good choice because of several YouTubers experienced in the hobby suggested it in a five gallon & with one fish there’s no aggression issues and a lot less that could go wrong, but other hobbyist have pointed out that they are a shoaling in fish the wild.

So, I’m curious where you guys stand on the issue. 

• Like 1

I am no expert on peas, but I have done a bit of research having kept one and wanting to keep more in the future. I have kept a single pea before in that size tank, and she seemed to do ok on her own. I did eventually put some pigmy corys in there that she did not bother. She seemed to do better with the corys because she was interested in them. She spent more time moving around and exploring when I had other fish in the tank. I think she just got really bored otherwise. I have ultimately heard both that they hate each other and at best tolerate each other and that they need each other in a shoal. However, my experience was that mine did better with other fish simply because she had more to do. So I lean more toward their being shoaling. That being said, I think some of that depends on the individual fish. I definitely would not keep more than one in a five, and if that is your only option, they will likely do well enough. I think of it like bettas. Again, not an expert, but have kept them for several years. I think they in general do better in community tanks with other fish. They are always far more active and vibrant in my opinion. However, some are just simply too aggressive to be put with other living creatures. Ultimately, it is always a gamble with more aggressive leaning fish; however, done right and if everyone behaves themselves, it seems to me bette