Where to start with scaping a new tank!

laritheloud

I'm just getting started with the early planning stages of my 55 gallon tank!

Where do you begin with scaping? How do you come up with a theme? I'm lost when it comes to getting started!

My first tank, a 29 gallon, was for me to play around with and just get my feet wet with the hobby. Now I want something with a more cohesive look to it. Do you buy hardscape pieces first and build around that? Do you go seeking hardscape to fit your vision, then build a plant aesthetic from there? I'm a complete novice to scaping. I'm using a natural color off-white sand as my substrate (inert) and Il'l be keeping the tank low tech. I want something that is low maintenance and easy to clean, and I'll need a little driftwood because I'd like to try a bristlenose pleco for this one.

• Like 2

I add my hardscape while it empty and play a round with till it look good then pick plants that will go well with the lay out  love anubis and Javan fern carpeting the hardscape some tall plants that will reach the surface and provide some shade add some leaf litter such as catappa  leaves or alder cones   

Edited by Colu
  • Like 1

On 6/19/2021 at 7:00 PM, Colu said:

I add my hardscape while it empty and play a round with till it look good then pick plant that will go well with the lay out  love anubis and Javan fern carpeting the hardscape some tall plants that will reach the surface and provide some shade add some leaf litter such as catappa  leaves or alder cones   

I'm thinking some floaters, too. Anubias and bolbitis are faves, Java Ferns take awhile to start looking nice in my tank but I'm willing to try them again with more knowledge. Swords grow really well for me, too, but I might try a simpler Jungle Val spray around the back and let it grow big and tall...