Hello from beautiful Saratoga springs Utah

Sheller

Hello everyone my name is Steve Heller and I have been keeping and breeding fish since 1990. I am on my 3rd Fish room and have approximately 35 tanks with the capacity to fit 50 total. I Used to be into African cichlids  when I lived in California working with an amazing breeder Named Jon N. in Simi Valley. He taught me so much and I will always be so grateful to him for letting me into his fish room every Saturday and let me pester him with Questions. My payment was always unlimited knowledge and he would always send me home with super rare and amazing fish to help me start my breeding career. He was a huge African cichlid guy that traveled all over the world collecting fish. One day he sent me home with a pair of Discus, I was hooked and actually ended up spawning them and this was before the internet was really a thing. Since then I have spawned many rare and so called "hard to breed fish ". My recent challenge was the midnight ram and it took 9 failures but finally cracked the code. I want to personally thank Cory and Dean for their motivational videos that kept me focused, Thank you guys! My next attempted venture will be the Heckle Discus and Altum Angelfish. Every day is an absolutely exciting adventure. 20210515_040745.jpg.42384d181ed64511c3b9518c92dd0c33.jpg

Resized_20210619_090122_27999206294682(1).jpeg

20210505_193302.jpg

20201228_141356.jpg

Edited by Sheller
  • Like 8

On 6/19/2021 at 3:58 PM, Griznatch said:

Welcome to the forum!

Pretty impressive fish room. You have 3 currently, or this is the third one you've built?

This is my third fishroom. 1st room was approximately 400 sq.ft. and fully automated. Second was about 100 sq. ft. My current room is 240 and 100% hands on, I enjoy this one the most

On 6/19/2021 at 5:13 PM, Ken said:

Welcome from across the lake. I'm over in PG. Are you the guy I heard was spawning Discus in our super hard-high Ph water?