I’m wondering if the Finnex Stingray 2 is too powerful a light for my 29 gallon planted community tank and causing me to have bad algae problems.  The algae keeps heavily covering my plant leaves, to which I have to constantly rub off.  I currently have crypts, java fern, water sprite, anubias, and vallisneria in it.  As well as growing on the plant leaves, a lot of the algae is concentrated on the gravel around the vals and crypts where I have root tabs buried. I currently have 12 neons, 4 corys, 1 red eye tetra, and just added 6 nerite snails to help eat the algae. I keep the light on for 7 hours and water parameters are: temp-75, pH-7.6, ammonia-0, nitrite-0, and nitrates 30ppm. Any help with this would be much appreciated. 

3CA1F564-9665-46FB-877F-808A2B00255B.jpeg

351D7C70-AD9F-4501-B5C0-1A81C934CE53.jpeg

B4F6D5B6-CF3A-4149-809E-527D004DB41A.jpeg

For what it’s worth I’m NOT an expert but I grow everything you have just not crypts i do Hornwort instead in my one tank. I leave my full spectrum super bright plant grow light think it a hygger can’t remember....9.5 hours full power no blue I have never fertilized anything anyway in this tank. Save for a dot of green here and there on the glass never have algae I have to trim all plants every week or I can’t see my pets. I keep my nitrates at 15-20.  I have 2 Anubius currently blooming in that tank  

Perhaps more light less ferts? Again not an algae expert at all so take it with a tablespoon of salt please. 

On 6/11/2021 at 7:05 PM, tonyjuliano said:

Not algae, but diatoms.  How old is tank?

the Nerites will obliterate that.

It’s been up and running for a two years now but the light was added about 6 months ago. I had good plant growth with it at first but then came the algae

On 6/11/2021 at 7:26 PM, Patrick_G said:

It might be a little to bright. You can adjust the power level on that model right? Maybe turn it down to 50% and see what happens.