Tank build: 90g Discus tank

Jeff

I've never done this before on a forum (a tank build / journal thread), but I think now is the time: for a couple of reasons. First, it's the biggest tank I've ever kept. And secondly, I'm going down the Cory rabbit hole - keeping fish I've never kept, that I always wanted. The plan for now is Discus, Rummynose Tetras, Corydoras, Cardinal Tetras, and German Blue Rams. This aspect of all new fish I've never tried is super exciting. 

As I'm in the very early stages of planning this tank, I do have the tank, though 🙂 I wanted to get some feedback on equipment and other items that I want to use. It's a good thing that I'm still planning, as I'm excited that Cory and team are testing out a light to eventually sell 😉 

First up, substrate. I'm really interested in finding out what plants, if any, can't be kept with sand. I know I'm already limited on plant selection in a high temp Discus tank. But, wanted to know if there were any plants that don't jive well with sand due to roots maybe? I dunno. I've also never had sand in a tank before. Does it matter which sand?

• Like 1

For the most part I dont think it matters what sand you use. I have heard of people even using play sand in their aquariums. In my community tank I used sand that was meant for Saltwater aquariums (my lfs is a saltwater store so it was the only one i could find) and it grows plants just fine:

image.png.21b3efab461bc83a6c509865b336e51c.png

I do however perfer the Seachem Black Flourite Sand. I have that substrate in the aquarium below the community tank.

Excited to see how this project comes together.

Edited by James Black

4 minutes ago, James Black said:

For the most part I dont think it matters what sand you use. I have heard of people even using play sand in their aquariums. In my community tank I used sand that was meant for Saltwater aquariums (my lfs is a saltwater store so it was the only one i could find) and it grows plants just fine: