Soft water and cycling

So I’m new to fishing keeping hobby and I wanna have a planted tank, I currently have a 5 gallon planted tank with amazon swords and Java ferns that’s doing well. I wanna plant  a 20 gallon but I’m having some confusion. If plants prefer to grow in a slightly acidic environment, how do you also grow beneficial bacteria for the nitrogen cycle? As I understand it, the bacteria needed for the cycle grow best at around 7.0 ph and will slow down in growth as the ph drops. How do you keep a tank cycled, while also having slightly acidic water for the plants and fish? Should also state that id like to have 6 kuhli loaches for this build. 

Hi Ursus, 

Welcome to the forum and the hobby! Here are some thoughts to help guide you in the right direction:

1) First things first, I would not put too much stock into the "ideal" parameters that you see online. I would say to just work with the water that comes out of your tap, unless there are lots of harmful substances like Copper or Mercury OR you are trying to maintain a very specific plant/fish. The reason I say this is because most plants may "prefer slightly acidic pH" but will grow just fine at higher pHs like 7.4 or even 8.0. Trying to chase an ideal parameter, especially as a beginner, can be difficult and discouraging if something goes wrong. So get a test kit and see what your water is like out of the tap, and make adjustments to stocking or substrate based on your water.