Breeding Mystery Snails

Sombat

Greetings everyone, I’m finally at the stage of hatching the clutches that were created on May 10th. I pulled the clutches from the incubator and carefully crumbled it into a specimen container using tank water. I’m concerned that perhaps I crumbled the clutches too soon. Looking at the results I am not seeing any snails. This is my first attempt to breed mystery snails, I’m concerned that this may a failure. Looking at the photo is it still possible there are viable snail babies?

F316F693-1840-44A7-BC44-DFDCAA6459A0.jpeg

Hi Sombat. To answer your ultimate question I'm going to say no. I think if you didn't see any movement since your post there weren't any survivors. My understanding with Mystery Snails is that if they aren't ready to be released from the egg sack and are released underwater, they essentially drown. It's one of the methods people use to NOT have snail babies, knocking the sack underwater so the eggs lose their viability. I've found a few good youtube videos from Rachel O'Leary about breeding Mystery snails, if you haven't seen them you might want to check them out. Good luck in your future breeding endeavor, be sure to post if you get some hatchlings. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Sadly, I have to agree with you about no viable snail babies. YouTube videos as well as Rachel O’Leary’s videos is where I got the idea of crumbling the clutches into the water. Fortunately, the snails laid multiple clutches weeks apart so I still have more chance. I have the remaining clutches on top of styrofoam floating within a breeder tank. 

Thank you for your feedback. 

Sombat

• Like 1

How many mystery snails do you have, and how long did it take them to start laying egg clutches? I would love to breed mine. I have three snails, all different colors, but I have approximately 0 signs of mating or egg laying, and I'm starting to wonder if I just have all females....