Betta Quarantine Questions from a Beginner

K-Davis

My 1 year old Betta has a white cotton-ish area on his tail between the top and bottom fins.  He's does not act sickly, but is a little lethargic.  I used Pimafix for about a week and saw significant change, but his 10 gallon tank got quite murky.  Since I know it helped I want to put him in his own hospital tank away from the 4 ottos and plant life in the 10 gallon.  The fish bowl holds about 3 liters.  How much Pimafix is safe? Would 0.6 ml work?  I also have Super Ick Cure.  Would that be better?  Do I need to worry about the temperature before relocating him?   I also read aquarium salt with the medication would help, is this true?  Since he is as old as he is, I just don't want to hurt him and I will admit, I am a beginner at this.

Thanks in advance.

Hi @K-Davis sorry to hear about your Betta but glad something is working for you- if it is then I'd stick with that treatment. I'm not great with math but sounds like for Pimafix it is 5ml per 10 gallons, which makes it half a ml for 1 gallon, 3 liters is .79 gallons. So I'd say up to .8 ml would work. You want to keep his stress to the absolute minimum, you are already going to move and medicate him. Try and keep his quarantine the same temp as his tank if possible. I'm not sure about the salt but you can consider 10-15 minute salt baths if he is not improved or add the salt later once you do your research again if nothing improves. Keep the water super clean. Now while instructions on Pima say dose every day for 7 days THEN do a water change- *I* have found doing water small changes every day before redosing has worked for me- but I've done that for Ich not fungal infections. Ich is a parasite- but keep Super Ick on hand as I have used it to cur Ich when I've had it in my tanks and it does work. Hope this helps. 

Edited by xXInkedPhoenixX
1 more thing.
  • Like 1