Hobby Resurrection

Phred

Old, newbie here.  Dusting off and setting up my 50 gallon, corner aquarium for a freshwater community tank after a twenty-year hiatus!  I am a one-tank hobbyist, not looking to intentionally breed fish, and might have a couple of live plants.  Seems like most of the comments in this forum are from folks with much more sophisticated objectives and experience.  🙂 

Spent the last week researching equipment and watching Cory's videos.  Bought a Fluval 307 for my primary filtration - I had success with a Fluval canister in the past.  Some questions:

>> Secondary Filtration / Water Flow / Aeration:  I'm under the impression that my Fluval 307 should be "enough" filtration.  I plan on adding one of Aquarium Co-op's Pre-Filters.  I am contemplating buying the Fluval Spray Bar Kit to help with dispersion of the outflow.  Any suggestions on whether I should be complementing the canister filter with something else?  (Sponge Filter / Air Stone / Air Pump.  Nano Circulation Pump.  Redundant Internal Filter (Ziss, Shark ADV)).  Tank will be in my living room, so I would appreciate any recommendations for specific equipment that is quiet.  (Over-the-back filters don't work with my corner tank.)    

>> LED Lighting:  I'm intrigued by LED lighting that can be programmed / controlled by an iPhone app.  The couple of threads that I've read on this topic seem to be oriented toward growing plants - versus just illuminating and not stressing the fish.  My tank to has room for a ~28x4" or ~20x8" footprint.  It is two feet deep, so would one lighting fixture be enough??  I would spend $150 on the Fluval Plant 3.0 if the technology & app features are much better than the $60 Fluval AquaSky 2.0.  I also wouldn't shy away from the $30 Hygger or NICREW if they are excellent lighting with basic controlling / scheduling app features.  Recommendations?

Thanks, Bill

Corner Aquarium.JPG

Edited by Phred
  • Like 1