Cherry Shrimp experts opinions needed on a dwindling shrimp colony.

GoYankees10

I have a 20 long cherry shrimp tank that has had a very successful colony the last 20 months.  In it are Shrimp and snails.  The snails I have used the e to feed my pea puffers and through entire time I have always seen lots of baby shrimp.    The last month- 2 months or so I’ve noticed I haven’t seen any babies and the colony has gone from tons to maybe 15 shrimp.  Plus all the snails that where in it are dwindling also with no smaller snails anymore.    Parameters all seem good, nothing has changed.  I never have missed a bi weekly water change and I have fed them the same the entire time.  Any advice welcomed.   

D12AFCDB-C9A2-4147-8A4F-EEDB96BA20B7.jpeg

CE29D8AF-A795-42C2-B6A4-43D07378E1E2.jpeg

Wonder if these questions would be something to consider.......Are you feeding them enough?  Do they have supplemental calcium?  Water changes too large?  I'm still learning but doing well with mine at the moment. Usually if snails dwindle they are not being fed enough to populate.

Taken from AquariumBreeder.... 

As your shrimp colony grows, sometimes an imbalance in sexes can cause a problem. If you have too many males in the tank when the female is molting, the males will do this “happy dance” and kind of frenzy around the whole tank looking for that female. 

Sometimes when there are too many males they overwhelm the female. It stresses her out and can kill her.  This is something to keep in mind. When you have a really large colony you notice that your female shrimp are turning up dead.

Do you watch for hydra, they will eat shrimp-lets.  

This is interesting... didn't know that the shrimp-lets can starve out competing for food with the adults.    

https://aquariumbreeder.com/how-to-increase-shrimplets-survival-rate/

Also check tank temperature.. higher temps will promote breeding but they won't live as long. 

Edited by Trish