What's old tank syndrome?

Jeannie

Hi Everyone,

I've just read on another post that tanks can end up with old tank syndrome. What is this exactly and roughly what time lapse can tanks start to suffer from this? More importantly, how can it be avoided? If indeed it can be avoided.

I'm still learning about this hobby. It seems never ending.  

Hi @Jeannie, I was about to post the link to the video @TheDukeAnumber1 posted as that is a great explanation of old tank syndrome.

In a nutshell, it will develop over time with a lack of maintenance. There will either be an accumulation of nitrates or something else in the water that your fish will become accustomed to or die from. And/ Or the pH can drop over time due to the nitrogen cycle. As ammonia gets converted to nitrates, free hydrogen ions are added to your system which will reduce pH or get bound to your kh(& reduce your kh). 

The best way to avoid old tank syndrome in my opinion is to have a heavily planted aquarium and test your water (nitrates, ph, gh and kh) so you can do water changes as needed. 

This is also a great reason to track your aquarium so you can compare your water parameters over time to see how it has changed. 

Thanks guys, 

I wasn't aware of GH and KH.  I've just watched Cory's video and read the other link. I think I kind of understand it, might have to read and watch again a few times to really comprehend it.  Feeling a bit stupid!!

I do currently keep a record of my daily tank readings etc.

Guess I need to buy the test kits for GH and KH.  Once I've got my head around this and understand exactly what I'm testing for.

Mind boggling stuff.

Lol no need to feel stupid. I re-read and re-watch things all the time. I will say the API liquid GH & KH test kits are worth it and should've been included in the master kit imo. I just have a hard time reading strips, I prefer liquid kits. Well I prefer digital meters but not many parameters have one of those available.

• Like 1