Complete newbie here, do I need to do water changes if my nitrates are zero?

Just Renee

There is so much conflicting info online regarding water changes.  I've been trying to hedge my bets by just doing weekly 25% water changes instead of 50% because it just seems so disruptive to change out so much water.  I'm always nervous I'm going to mess with the balance I'm trying to create every time I do a water change.  I also rarely ever show nitrates because I started out with plants in the tank from the get go (at least, I think that's why I don't have nitrates?).  Now I'm looking up info on why my plants look rough in my little 6 gallon tank and I think it's a nitrate problem.  I just tested the water again (using API 5 in 1 test strips) and still no nitrates.

So I have a couple of questions I hope someone can help me with. 

1.  Do I need to change out any % of water if my nitrates are 0 and I can't identify any other reason the water needs to be changed (fish look good, other parameters look good, etc).  Should I wait until my nitrates go up to change the water?  Why AM I changing water if my nitrates are 0 anyways, what am I trying to remove?

2.  Does dosing with Easy Green add to my nitrates or is that something that needs to build up organically from the life in the tank?  

Thanks.  I have been looking up a lot and trying to learn but I'm still just very confused on the water change thing.

Edit:  I have very hard water, like my little 5 in 1 strip always just maxes out immediately.  Does that affect the need for water changes, like will all that hard water just build up from topping off over and over instead of removing with a water change?

Edited by Just Renee
  • Like 1

To answer your questions...

1. The only time you need to change water is when you test for either Nitrites and Amonia. Often that means doing weekly waterchanges but it varies from tank to tank.