Rehomed, dull and raggedy

Amp912

Hi! I'm a science teacher that has taken on another teacher's discarded Betta.

Backstory: The fish were originally given as gifts years ago, in vases with various plants for filtration. At the start of the shutdown, all of the fish were moved to my class because I had sinks and tables. Fast forward 14 months and only 4 are still alive. I have found homes with students for 3/4. The fourth looks very sickly and so I'm trying to bring him back to his former glory myself (to avoid traumatizing a student). With a little Googling and PetSmart advice, I am trying to prepare a 5 gallon tank for my Betta.

I need serious help and guidance. Where do I even start?

Pictures include new tank, close up from 5 months ago, close up today with plant moved to new tank. 

IMG_20210520_094545_214.jpg

IMG_20210520_094545_256.jpg

IMG_20210520_094545_301.jpg

IMG_20210520_094545_281.jpg

• Sad 2

@Amp912 your picture link doesn't work, maybe you can upload the file to the forum. It would help if you describe what  you've got in respect to substrate, filtration, lights, decorations, plants, no plants, whether you are using dechlorinator, or not, water values, ...and most of all what your patient currently looks like.

46 minutes ago, Jungle Fan said:

@Amp912 your picture link doesn't work, maybe you can upload the file to the forum. It would help if you describe what  you've got in respect to substrate, filtration, lights, decorations, plants, no plants, whether you are using dechlorinator, or not, water values, ...and most of all what your patient currently looks like.

Tank was set up yesterday and I was hoping to add Betta before the weekend.

Substrate is just black aquarium gravel. 

Filter was part of 5 gallon tank kit: Top Fin Silentstream 10 Power Filter with cartridge instruction Manual

Bright white led in hood

Just a floating betta log atm for decoration