Male or Female

MammaG

Hello!

I'm new to honey gouramis, and they are challenging me. Lol! I posted a few days ago about my stressed honey. I ended up getting it a friend which helped for a few days and then it went back to pacing. So, I moved him and his friend to a different tank and they seem to be happier (so far)

I then bought another gourami for my 15 gallon fluval flex. It settled in great so a couple of days later I brought home a friend for him. When I put the second one in the tank, the first gourami went to full breeding dress. The newest gourami is supposed to be a male, but he  hasn't coloured up yet. They've been together for 24 hours. I haven't seen any fight or chasing.

Do you think the newest addition is just stressed still, or is my male actually a female? 

IMG_20210513_110256.jpg

It's a little hard to tell from the picture but it does look like a male. When the top dorsal fun is extended look at the back portion. If it's pointed at the top is a male. If it's rounded female

Hm this is tricky and I've been reading a lot about this cause I'm having similar trouble with my sunset honey gouramis. 

Personally, I would have said that the fish in your picture is a female honey gourami because it has a brown stripe down its side. 

I'm currently looking at my male and female gouramis and their dorsal/anal fins are almost identical in shape. I'm wondering if this method of sexing applies to other gourami species but less so to honey gouramis. 

I can confirm that I have a male and a female because they do a mating dance routine thing almost daily. When they're doing this, the female gets a brown stripe down her side (at any other time this stripe is not visible - although they are sunset variety and I think for wild-types the brown line is more visible). As for the male, he never has a brown line down the side of his body. 

• Like 1