Coldwater biological filtration

eatyourpeas

I am trying to set up a 5 gallon canister filter for a 36 gallon coldwater (55F) marine tank, and was wondering if anyone has had experience with how long it takes for BB to get established in such an environment. Part of my challenge is the filter media arrangement, so any input is appreciated.

I already have a small coldwater tank that seems to be using BB as well as macro algae. I have carbon and a sponge in the filter, but it is so small that I do not want to use that as reference. Also, I do not intend to use carbon in the 5 gallon filter.

I think filter media arrangement is always the same, please someone correct me if I'm wrong. 

In your flow order (mechanical-sponge), then (biological-Bio balls, biohome, ect), and lastly (chemical filtration). The biggie is not having your chemical filtration (if you use any) before the rest as it will starve your beneficial bacteria. That said, I've zero experience with marine tanks. 

As for 'how long' it takes for Beneficial bacteria to establish. Say you dose a tank with Seachem Stability, you are looking around 3 days for 'that' dose to establish itself to the current bio-load. I dont know if temperature slows this process or not. 

1 hour ago, eatyourpeas said:

I have been told that is the case. I have not had any issues with the freshwater tanks, but I am very new to cold and saltwater.

So the way I understand it, there is a 'balance' with Beneficial bacteria. You can dose for more Beneficial bacteria but the excess will die off and stay within balance of the bio-load the tank offers. If its balanced, and you add a fish, the beneficial bacteria will catch up gradually. if you add 30 fish at once, you may want to dose beneficial bacteria a day or so prior to adding the fish, or while you add the fish. This enables the BB to buffer and not have to catch up to the new bio-load. Any excess will still die off and obtain equilibrium just like before.