Hydra dormant in the Coops brine shrimp eggs?

Silver112

Hello all. This is my first time on here and have some questions that some of you may be able to help with. I have been in the hobby for 30+ years. I had never seen a hydra in person until now. I recently purchased the ziss brine shrimp hatchery, salt and eggs from the Co-op. I hatched by first batch a couple days ago. I had never gone with live brine shrimp before but thought I would give it a try. Everything seemed to go great. However, 24 hours later I found these little green things all over my tank! On closer inspection they are indeed hydra. So I wiped down what I could to try to physically remove as much as I could. I know damaged hydra can multiply into more. I already had a second batch of shrimp eggs percolating. And went ahead and added them. Another 24 hours later and my tank is covered even more with hydra. The only addition to my tanks in Months has been the introduction of the brine shrimp. And since this is my first time seeing them in over 30 years in the hobby I find it too much of a coincidence! Has anyone else noticed this? Do hydra naturally hitchhike in with brine shrimp eggs?

Hydra require small foods, and baby brine shrimp are perfect for them.  Cory had a video not long ago about hydra and what fish will eat them.

How to Get Rid of Hydra the EASY Way - YouTube

I have had hydra pop up several times over my years of fish keeping, and I just received my first batch of co-op brine shrimp eggs. I would get them in tanks when I was feeding bbs or other small foods heavily. 

• Like 1