Hello, my name is Jamie, and I am addicted to fish. I have been in the hobby for about a year and a half, and I already maintain (with the help of my wonderful wife) 5 tanks between our house and my classroom. I am a high school science teacher in SC. I specialize in nano fish and small tanks. I have 2 10's, 1 5-gallon, 1 small (maybe 2-3 gallon) nano tank, and our monster tank is a 30-gallon. I recently got into guppies and have enjoyed breeding them and watching them grow. My hope for being a part of this forum is to learn whatever I can to further my abilities in keeping fish, as well as impart the small amount of wisdom I will glean along the way.

• Like 3

10 minutes ago, JStrutt said:

Hello, my name is Jamie, and I am addicted to fish. I have been in the hobby for about a year and a half, and I already maintain (with the help of my wonderful wife) 5 tanks between our house and my classroom. I am a high school science teacher in SC. I specialize in nano fish and small tanks. I have 2 10's, 1 5-gallon, 1 small (maybe 2-3 gallon) nano tank, and our monster tank is a 30-gallon. I recently got into guppies and have enjoyed breeding them and watching them grow. My hope for being a part of this forum is to learn whatever I can to further my abilities in keeping fish, as well as impart the small amount of wisdom I will glean along the way.

Welcome!! That’s so great you’ve extended your hobby into your classroom! 

We’ve set up a couple tanks in a school nearby this year. One is a 55 gal in a high school class, and another is a 33 gal long in a 5th grade class. The teachers are just friends of our family. Here’s a couple videos:

High School tank...

5th Grade tank...

• Like 1
  • Love 1

12 minutes ago, Isaac M said:

Hello @JStrutt, welcome to the forum! Guppies are great fish, I look forward to seeing your nano tanks and monster tank! You came to the right forum, most likely everyone here is addicted to fish as well haha