This is my first attempt at a SW tank. I am adding all sorts of life forms from Puget Sound, Washington State.

The humble beginnings:
1614366070659.png

Currently aiming for a stable 55F environment and waiting for the dust to settle.

1614366595885.png

1614366796459.png

Had a molting from one of the amphipods.

1614366846319.png

1614685915639.png

1615003026143.png

Well, I thought mystery snails were the only ones with more of a penchant for relocation, until I just saw the clam decided to try a new spot in the tank (and out of view, of course). I know he is there because I can see him from the top, but the little stinker has made it impossible for me to get a side view. I guess they all want to redecorate at some point. The snails and amphipods have pretty much decimated the green tuft seaweed.

Littorina scutulata and several amphipods and copepods.

Algae:
Sarcodiotheca gaudichaudii, Cladophora columbiana, Prionitis lanceolata, Fucus gardneri, Alaria marginata.

The tank today:

1618155821426.png

I am also documenting this in YT so I can remember what things looked like once a transition has taken place. Please bear in mind that I do have a goofy sense of humour, so some of the videos are kind of wacky.

• Like 12
  • Love 4

1 hour ago, Emika_B said:

Wow, that’s cool!  Those gammaru are huge - or is it a perspective thing?  Either way, very neat and thanks for sharing 🙂

They are about four times larger than when I first got them. Must be the food I give them, and yes, they are scarily huge! And you are welcome 🙂

44 minutes ago, Demobanana said:

Cool! The only thing I know about Puget Sound is Jeremy Wade went there once t look at some octopus, the water looks so murky and dark. But I think native tanks (and not just in your country) are a really cool addition to a home.