Water change or leave it?

I do my chemistry (the long painful way) once a week (because I am a paranoid fish rookie). My 40 Gallon has been doing great cycling wise, and I have had to REALLY work on DON'T TOUCH IT.. LEAVE IT... and I have. However, the manual algae removal and Diatom algae was getting to be a bit much because I just HATE how it looks. My plants have gone nuts in there, and I have already had to trim them and re plant the trimmings. 

Saturday I caved in and added 2 Oto's (they only had 2) and 1 Clown pleco (who I say for 5 hrs. and is hiding now). I fed them an algae wafer yesterday.

My chemistry has not changed since I did it on April 15th (I know less than a week, but wanted to check because I added fish).

Do I leave it? or should I do a water change?

PH 7.4, Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0 and Nitrates 20 ppm ( I think) the colors are sometimes tough to read. 

40 Gallon breeder Chemistry April 19 2021.jpg

Yay for waiting and letting the cycle go!! At this point, I think you could go either way. Your cycle looks like it’s doing great, especially if the parameters haven’t changed since you added fish. So I don’t think there’s a benefit to letting the water sit anymore. That said, these parameters aren’t begging for a water change either. Some people may worry that the nitrates are kind of high (I would call that 40 ppm from the picture), but other people say only ridiculously high levels of nitrates are toxic. So really, you could water change or not. Lower nitrates might help curb algae growth, so that could be an argument for a water change. But basically, do whatever you want! 😊

• Like 1

I agree with the answers above, though I don't think a water change is ever a bad thing.  I do have one question.  It looks like your pH test is showing 7.6, which is as high as that test will read.  Have you run the high pH test to see if you get something different?