Rainbow Cichlids

Biotope19

Hello All,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I have a 20 high with two rainbow cichlids, two female redtail dalmation platys and a male albino bristlenose. I was told that the Rainbows were a male and a female. The larger one that I was told was a male lays eggs about every 30 days. This fish is large and looks like a male. The other one, whom I was told was a female is smaller. The large one colors up beautifully in full breeding colors. The small one stays dark most of the time and is chased away often. Although I have eggs many times, they never hatch and I don’t think ever get fertilized. I either have two females (one dominant and one not) or a mature female and an immature male. Has anyone had any experience with these fish?

FE31E630-4255-4937-8849-C060A679B8F6.jpeg

813DAF12-FDDA-4268-BD5C-B678D2F3432E.jpeg

ABEF8FC2-5997-4732-B83F-9E1D5EED5C88.jpeg

BA712766-1525-49C8-BA60-9C72735580FC.jpeg

F332FBAB-8D11-45EB-8372-3AEB80A1FFCA.jpeg

Love your tank set up! Beautiful Valisneria. Not familiar with these cichlids, but rooting around, here are some tips: (1) Although there is a degree of variance observed between different specimen photos of this species (see photos below), there seems to be no tell-tale sexual dimorphism. The Wikipedia article on them is surprisingly good, with ample links to published articles.

The dark coloration may possibly be, as you suggest, from stress. It is very critical to get photos or videos of the egg-laying female in the act to ensure that the other fish is not fertilizing the eggs. When she lays them, do they quickly take on a white appearance? Do they seem to quickly grow a cottony-like fungus? Or are they a brownish coloration? Does she guard them for long? Or does she eat them immediately? Note: Bristlenose plecos can be brutal to your egg population. They'll find the eggs at night, and scarf them all down on cichlids.

It is a beautiful fish -- looks almost like mini-Vieja.