Betta Behavior

Goosedub

Hey all,

this is my first time keeping a betta? So I want to know if this is normal behavior, he likes to just lay down on the bottom of the tank. He does this a lot. It started approx a week ago. Before that he was almost always swimming in the water column or flaring at his reflection. I checked water parameters:

ph 7.4

nitrite and ammonia 0

Nitrate 20-30ppm

gh 150

kh 40

he also eats fine. He prefers to pick the food off the ground and doesn’t intercept in the water column very often.   When he does swim, he doesn’t have any issues.

the only other behavior I have noticed is he will occasionally flash on the decor. No skin/fin abnormalities that I can see.

let me know if he is being normal or if this is something I need to be concerned about.

thanks,

derek

Just now, CorydorasEthan said:

What's the temperature of the tank? I heard bettas act lethargic when the water is too cold.

I keep it at 78-79. I even bought a new heater because my 50W only kept the temp up to 76 when it was cooler. And I wanted my betta a little warmer

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Goosedub said:

I keep it at 78-79. I even bought a new heater because my 50W only kept the temp up to 76 when it was cooler. And I wanted my betta a little warmer

Hm. I don't know what could be causing the issue then. How old is your betta? It is normal behavior for an older betta to lie on the bottom. It also could be something is bothering him internally (like a parasite), which would also explain the occassional flashing.

• Like 1

47 minutes ago, CorydorasEthan said:

Hm. I don't know what could be causing the issue then. How old is your betta? It is normal behavior for an older betta to lie on the bottom. It also could be something is bothering him internally (like a parasite), which would also explain the occassional flashing.